Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools



The departments, institutes and affiliated institutes are responsible for the execution of all activities relating to the Bachelor’s, Master’s and doctoral degree programmes, for the continuing education offerings and competence areas (research and development, knowledge and technology transfer).

University Council

The University Council is the supreme governing body of the University of Liechtenstein. It is appointed by the Government for four years and is comprised of six members representing science and business. The President of the University of Liechtenstein and a representative of the Office of Education participate in an advisory capacity at the meetings.

• Dr. Volker M. Rheinberger

• Dr. Michael Käppeli
   Executive Director of the ETH Board
• Markus Kaiser
   CEO and Chairman of the Board of Kaiser AG
• Adolf E. Real, Dipl. Ing. ETH, MBA USD
  Management Consultant, Adolf Real Consulting Establishment
• Jon Ritter, dipl. Arch. ETH, march AA, SIA
  President, Liechtensteinische Architekten- und Ingenieurvereinigung
• Dr. iur. Klaus Tschütscher, LL.M.
  Entrepreneur and member of the Board of Directors
• lic. iur. Brigitte Vogt
  Attorney at Law, Walser Attorneys at Law Ltd.

Consultative Members:
• Prof. Peter Staub, President ad interim
• Dr. Daniel Miescher
  Office of Education of the Principality of Liechtenstein


The Senate is entrusted with the academic development of the University and is responsible for the following areas in particular: approval of curricula and Study and Assessment Regulations; appointing members to academic commissions; preparing statements on questions of strategy, on research governance and on quality standards in research and teaching; providing initiatives for the further development and quality assurance of research and teaching.

All professors at the University belong to the Senate, as well as three representatives from the junior faculty, three representatives from the student body and one member of the University administration. The President attends in a non-voting capacity.

The Senate elects a professor as Chair every two years.

Chair of the Senate
Prof. Dr. Marco Menichetti

Deputy Chair of the Senate
Prof. Dr. sc. ETH Dipl.-Ing. Anne Brandl

Honorary Senator
Klaus Näscher
Hans Brunhart
Prof. Dr.iur. Dr.rer.oec. Dr.h.c. Herbert Batliner


The Rectorate’s duties chiefly cover the operative management of the University of Liechtenstein, external relations and the introduction and coordination of planning activities.

The Rectorate is appointed by the University Council and consists of five members:

Prof. Peter Staub (ad interim)

Prof. Dr. Marco Furtner, Vice-Rector Teaching
Dipl.-Ing. HTL Markus Graf, Director Central Services
Prof. Dr. Nicolas Raschauer, Vice-Rector Research