Research awards

Research Prize of the Principality of Liechtenstein

The prize, established by the government of the Principality of Liechtenstein to promote research and endowed with a total of CHF 10,000, is awarded annually for outstanding academic or research achievements by young researchers at the University of Liechtenstein. The prize promotes the development of Liechtenstein as a research location in general; it also supports academic career opportunities at the university.

The research prize is exclusively awarded in recognition of young researchers at the University of Liechtenstein. The work submitted must have been carried out in the context of the applicant's work at the University of Liechtenstein. Applicants may be doctoral candidates, research assistants, graduates of doctoral studies, university lecturers, post-doctoral candidates, assistant professors and post-doctoral candidates.

 Current call for proposals

 Previous award winners

  • 2023: Dr. Lindsay Howe (publication), Dr. Thomas Grisold (publication), Dr. Matthias Hermann Romero (dissertation)

  • 2022: Bianca Böckle MSc (project work), Dr. Valentin Holzwarth (dissertation), Dr. Marco Lettenbichler (publication)

  • 2021: Dr. Jurij-Andrei Reichenecker (publication), Dr. Janine Hacker und Joshua Handali (publication), Dr. Michael Weigerding (dissertation), Dr. Wolfgang Hora (project work)

  • 2020: Dr. Rodrigo Alba Kasovsky (dissertation), Dr. Bernhard Burtscher (project work), Dr. Wiebke Szymczak (publication)

  • 2019: Dr Alexandra Butterstein (publication), Dr Ferdinand Thies (publication), Dr Leona Kruse (dissertation)

  • 2018: Dr. Matthias Filser (publication), Mag. arch. Cornelia Faisst (project work), Dr. Sanja Tumbas (dissertation)

  • 2017: Dr. Helge Mensching (dissertation), Dr. Jörn von Grabe (publication), Celina Martinez-Cañavate (project work), Vera Kaps (project work)

  • 2016: Dr. Nadine Székely (dissertation), Dr. Markus Weinmann (publication), Sarah Zelt (project work)

  • 2015: Dr. Lars Kaiser (dissertation), Dipl.-Ing. Mag. Dr. Sebastian Stöckl (publication), Dr. Andrea Harr (project work)

  • 2014: Dr. Aron Veress (dissertation), Stefan Debortoli (publication), Dr. Sonia Lippe (project work)

  • 2013: Dr. Theresa Schmiedel (dissertation), Dr. Martin Angerer (publication), and Dr. Christian Sonnenberg (project work)

  • 2012: Dr.Alexander Simons (dissertation), Dr. Oliver Müller and Dr. Stefan Seidel (publication), Dr. Susanne Durst and Dr. Stefan Wilhelm (project work)

Nobel Laureate Meeting

Since 1951, the Nobel Laureate Meeting in Lindau has promoted dialogue between generations and cultures. The meeting of the laureates of the Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences takes place every three years. Since 2008, young scientists from Liechtenstein have also regularly taken part in the conference. Further information on the conferences can be found at

Previous participants from the University of Liechtenstein:

  • 2022: Dr. Leona Chandra Kruse, Olivia Hohlwegler, Matthias Herrmann-Romero, Djordje Zivkovic
  • 2020: Matthias Herrmann-Meng
  • 2017: Zorica Zagorac-Uremovic, Wiebke Szymczak, Demelza Kelso Hays, Markus Weinmann
  • 2014: Oliver Müller, Stefan Debortoli, Andreas Brunhard, Stefan Wilhelm
  • 2011: Theresa Schmiedel, Claudia Brunner, Stefan Seidel
  • 2008: Alexander Simons, Bettina Thurnher

Other research awards (selection of the last 5 years)


  • Scope Award 2021, Innovation category: Award for the fund co-developed by the University of Liechtenstein.



  • Charles Brandes Prize, Brandes Institute 2019: "ESG Integration: value, growth and momentum". Kaiser Lars
  • "Dr. Stephan Koren Award", presented by the Vienna University of Economics and Business to Bernhard Burtscher.
  • AIS Best Information Systems Publications Award , Stefan Seidel, Leona Chandra, Nadine Székely, Michael Gau, Daniel Stieger.
  • Franz Gschnitzer Award of the University of Innsbruck to Magdalena Friedrich for her diploma thesis


  • European Research Paper of the Year 2018, Best European IT Paper: "How Is Your User Feeling? Inferring Emotion Through Human-Computer Interaction Devices". Weinmann Markus
  • Swiss Energy Award Watt d'Or: Dietrich Schwarz



  • Best Paper Award of the Global Innovation and Knowledge Academy (GIKA) 2016: "Family Firm Internationalization: A Configuration Approach". Kraus S., Mensching H., Cheng C. F., Filser M.


  • Emerald Literati Network 2015 Award for Excellence, Highly Recommended Paper: "Emotions and ERP Information Sourcing: The Moderating Role of Expertise". von Brocke J., Leger P.M., Riedel R.
  • Best Paper Award at the International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS) 2015: "The 'Digital Façade' of Rapidly Growing Entrepreneurial Organizations". vom Brocke J.
  • Best Prototype and Demo at the Business Analytics Congress (BAC) 2015: Demo: " - Text Mining in the Cloud". vom Brocke Jan, Müller Oliver and Debortoli Stefan
  • AIS (Association of Information Systems) Technology Challenge Award: Jan vom Brocke